Ruger Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

Viceroy 馃煩馃煩馃煩
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry if this is something that should be readily apparent. I'm new to the whole AR world and just built a PSA kit, which shoots great by the way. My AR is 5.56 chambered so this is not a big deal, safety wise. ... I'm just kind of curious.

I picked up some Armscor USA .223 ammo as well as some Federal / Lake City M855 5.56, and some Federal Fusion .233 to test out the gun. (The Fusion stuff was shooting consistent .75"-1" groups!)

The Armscor .223 shot very accurately too. Not as well as the Fusion hunting load, but it seemed like a quality plinking load for the low price. It definitely seemed more like a .233 when I shot it. (It always sounds to me like 5.56s are a little louder.)

But then why does the headstamp say 5.56? :confused: Here are pics of the box and the brass.

Attachments

Registered
According to the info some of the retailers selling this particular ammo have on their site, Armscor loads this ammo to 223 specs but sometimes will use 5.56 brass. The ammo is not XM855, the bullet will not attract a magnet. Though the muzzle velocity is the same as XM855 @ 3020fps.

As long as you are using it in a 5.56 or Wylde chambered rifle I would not worry. I agree though, the brass and the MV do suggest it will produce similar pressures as XM855.

Retired Moderator & Gunsmith
I did some research and found Armscor (the company) is located in the Philippines. Their ammo is loaded in the USA using Philippines made components (brass, bullets, primers, and powder). All their 223 Rem ammo has 55gr FMJ bullets. The headstamp is indeed strange. No other company marks their ammo with 5.56 .... it's either marked 223 Rem or has the USGI or NATO markings, which are the same with one exception. All ammo made to NATO specs will have a circle with a plus sign in the headstamp ... resembling the view through a scope. Armsco ammo has a 2-digit year code just like USGI and NATO ammo.