Ruger Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! Im new to the 10/22 . I have the regular 10/22 carbine with the factory blue barrel with these mods - kidd bolt buffer and kidd extractor. I just bought the CCI stingers at walmart for **$5.77** What a DEAL that was! I usually see then for $7.99 Or more so i couldn't let the opportunity pass me by and bought the last three 50 packs .

I remember seeing the warnings in the manual saying to do not use *Stinger* in the target version and tactical . Also on the back of the Stinger label it said "USE ONLY IN FIREARMS HAVING STANDARD ANSI SPORTING BARREL/CHAMBER DIMENSIONS. Basically I'm wondering if the stinger will wear the rifle/barrel components noticeably faster if extensively used compare to...say mini mags ? Is my stock barrel ANSI ?also what part/parts would most likely show signs of damage/wear first in the long run ? thank you ahead of time for your inputs.

·
Registered
41 Posts
CCI Stingers use a slightly longer case than a standard .22 Long Rifle cartridge, .694" long as opposed to .595". As a result .22 firearms with tighter than normal SAAMI-spec chambers may end up generating too high a pressure and/or have feeding/extraction issues. In a normal chamber they are just fine and really don't generate enough extra pressure to hurt the lifespan of a .22 as over-engineered as the 10/22 is. Little pocket .22s like a pot-metal Jennings are a different story.

·
Registered
290 Posts
What about useig Stingers in a SR22? I bought a box a while ago but have not fired them yet! Now I am concerned about hearing the have a longer case. Will they cause any damage?

·
Dog Soldier
1,782 Posts
I have shot them in all of my .22s.
All are quality guns and have had no problems.
Shoot'um if you got'um!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·