Ruger Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm looking for some advice using W296. I have a 5 1/2" RedHawk and at 25 yards i'm not able to get a group. I have been loading rifle and auto handgun for around fifteen years now but I am new to the magnum handgun stuff. I use Lyman data and data I come across on the forums but i haven't had any luck. powder selection is very limited in my area so I need to be able use what I can find. I have IMR 4227 loads that are running great but its tough to come by. I look forward to any advice you folks can give me.

·
Registered
805 Posts
Whenever I load magnum level jacketed bullets 296/H110 is my powder of choice. I load it exactly as suggested with magnum primers and charge weights from the Hodgdon data. This load has shot very well for me in several 44's. I scoped a 629 once and it was impressively accurate with this load. For magnum level Keith type cast bullets I use 2400 but I have not had or seen any of it in a long time. For 2400 I always use a CCI standard large pistol primer. I have always gotten good accuracy with those too. I long ago backed off a little from the often quoted Elmer Keith 22 grain load because in a completely unscientific way had the impression it was a little to hot for extended use. I know some loaders use 296 with heavy cast loads I just never have.

I used these loads in several Super Blackhawks, a 5 1/2 Redhawk, and several S&W 29/629's with good results.

·
Registered
393 Posts
In most of my revolvers I have found that near max loads with H110 and 296 are the most accurate. A good Crimp I feel is also important. Go the Hogdon/ Winchester site and look at loads there. If you are willing to pay the yearly renewal Load Data .com is awesome. Good luck

·
Retired Moderator & Gunsmith
17,058 Posts