Ruger Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not very good with the search function so here's another thread about changing springs.
I've got the shooter's pack for my SP 101 in .22 but I can't find info on whether changing the trigger return spring is crucial when changing the main spring. Can anyone enlighten me on the interaction between the two? Would just changing the main to the 13lb and leaving the rest alone be a bad idea?
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I'm not very good with the search function so here's another thread about changing springs.
I've got the shooter's pack for my SP 101 in .22 but I can't find info on whether changing the trigger return spring is crucial when changing the main spring. Can anyone enlighten me on the interaction between the two? Would just changing the main to the 13lb and leaving the rest alone be a bad idea?
Thanks in advance.
Changing the trigger return spring is the most direct way to lower trigger pull. The consequence is slower trigger return or it might even get stuck midway if your trigger group isnt smooth you might have to push the trigger forward so it resets before u can fire again in extreme example. You want faster return for rapid fire or follow up shots.

The hammer main spring directly affects DA pull and indirectly SA pull by reducing the pressure required to cock the hammer back and pressure on the sear. The consequence is less hammer force striking primer or rim and u might not get a bang each time the trigger is pulled. Ignition reliablity is compromised to a degree.

The "optimal" setup is to change both springs and retain reliability and characteristics that suits your needs.