Ruger Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
been around firearms my entire life and i am in my 6th decade. i am new to carrying but very comfortable with doing so. i also have a rental property and collect rent each month. today i was picking up rent from a tenant who operates a convienience store and he paid me in cash. guess one of the "locals" was watching and shouted out to me "you better be careful wit dat cash someone don't pull sometin on you" . i turned, assessed him as no threat, but replied"if that happened they may be surprised". i probably should have said nothing in hindsight but i was calm and ready to defend myself if needed. strange feeling the level of calmness in face of a possible defense situation. living in connecticut i am sure if i had to use lethal force i would be arrested, jailed and driven penniless defending myself in a court of law against a minimal charge of manslaughter.

hope thats as close as i ever come to drawing my weapon but i am now sure that i will be able to if need be.

just thought i'd share....

·
Registered
3 Posts
I'm glad nothing happened. That is always the best outcome. Your new friend sounds like he was genuinely trying to be helpful. I think it is a good general policy to let people know you are aware of yourself and your surroundings, and you did that.

·
Registered
293 Posts
...just glad everyone is safe.

·
Registered
298 Posts
Here's hoping he doesn't have loose lips and keeps you safe. Maybe a more discrete meeting with your tenants might be in order so you are not identified as a carrier of large sums of cash.

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
Glad that everything was ok. Since your tenant runs a convenience store you might ask him to purchase a money order to pay you (most of them around here sells them). Probably a little safer than carrying a bunch of cash.

Be safe and welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
767 Posts