Ruger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased this gun. I am picking it up next week. Does anyone who owns one have an opinion they wish to share? Good or bad lets hear it. Thanks

·
Registered
5,833 Posts
I just purchased this gun. I am picking it up next week. Does anyone who owns one have an opinion they wish to share? Good or bad lets hear it. Thanks
Welcome aboard sir! Congrats on your acquisition of a new Ruger Security-Nine pistol!
I have no experience with that line, so sorry on the feedback, but welcome aboard!!!

Reactions: Patfan73

·
Premium Member
466 Posts
Welcome.

My take on the Security 9 pistols

1 year ago I decided that I wanted more capacity than achievable with my LC9s. I also wanted more weight and size to offset recoil because the arthritis In my hands gets worse with age (79 yrs). While I have owned a variety of manufacturers’ pistols since I bought my first in 1970. Some were good others were not-so-good. I know how to evaluate a pistol for my purposes. I did a lot of research into current 9mm offerings. I wanted reliability, accuracy, capacity, and excellent customer service. The latter criterion ruled out quite a few manufacturers. I also wanted affordable. I am on a fixed income and have to watch my funds carefully.

I read ever review I could find and watched numerous YouTube reviews even ones that reported issues. Nothing I read or saw prejudiced me against the pistol. In fact I found that some reviewers who has issues had likely never ready the pistol’s manual because they did not know the pistol does not have a slide release and has a slide stop. They also complained how putting the safety on was an issue. They missed the fact that Ruger designed it that way to avoid accidental engagement. I became convinced it was a good possibility.